Blue Am I

I figured today was not the best day to post.  Don’t get me wrong, it has been a very pleasant day its just that I am a little blue.

Today is one of the days where while I work I sit and think about how I would rather be at home with the kids.  I think about how I wish I could trade my responsibilities as a working mother for the responsibilites of a working stay-at-home mother.  I think of how I would trade my work-outside-of-the-home mom title for a stay-at-home & work-from-home mom title.  Being a mother and keeping a home is enough of a responsibility.

I have been feeling a little overwhelmed lately.  Lil’ Bum has been a little more needy lately and Baby Bum is crawling and has no fear or concept of boundaries.  I feel like I can’t manage it all.  There is only so much time in the evenings to try and manage quality time with the kids, care for their needs, and keep the house halfway decent.  I can’t find a happy medium and it is all a reminder of how I would love to work from home.

Sorry for the rant.  I usually avoid this topic when it is on my mind which is quite often but today it got the best of me.

Published in: on January 17, 2008 at 4:39 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebarnbums.wordpress.com/2008/01/17/blue-am-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry you’re blue. If it helps at all, I *am* at home and I *still* feel overwhelmed by managing it all.

    Try to focus on the small victories and the great moments — the big picture will fall into place.

  2. So sorry you are feeling blue. I feel blue too… for you. I am overwhelmed ALL THE TIME and I am at home. I understand the yearning and the desire. I have been a full time workig away from home mom, a part time, and a full time stay at home mom. The only thing I have yet to do is actually work (at making money) while at home with the kids. There is no time. It is hard. You have the right to feel blue. And you have the right to spill your guts (and your blueness) all over this blog whenever you need to. Sometimes just talking about it can help. I am sending you cyber hugs right now and they will be waiting for you when you read this comment. Feel how warm and fuzzy?

  3. I need to make you laugh. Was trying to think of a light hearted subject pertaining to your life of late… my mind wonders back to that beautiful little girl with her boogers…. at least she isn’t doing this:

  4. Oh, I feel for ya! I’m with Tracy: you should vent or spill your guts all over this here blog whenever you need to. And do know that we are all crazy and overwhelmed. I feel like that everyday. But I’m so grateful that I’m home with them, so I totally hear you on that one. Hope the day gets better!


Leave a Reply

