What’s in a name?

At times I think I’m jumping the gun, I mean I only started this in October, but my free blog account leaves me very limited.  I am not able to add buttons, banners, ads, etc.  I am ready for a change.

Taking this step is a little intimidating.  I don’t know a thing about code, or webpages, or good writing.  So my first task at hand is to gather up some cojones and get started.

I need to buy a domain name.  Do I change it all around or go with “thebarnbums”? 

When I knew I wanted to blog the namewas my biggest hold up.  I couldn’t think of one single catchy title.  So finally in an act of desperation I went with a play on words which also references our small farming operation.  I am not exactly thrilled with the name but it has quickly became a part of me and my blogging identity.  So do you think I should keep it?  Did you immediately feel at one with your blog’s name and feel that it accurately represented you?  Did you have to think long and hard to come up with it?

Tell me what you think.  An inquiring mind wants to know.

Published in: on January 23, 2008 at 11:19 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebarnbums.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/whats-in-a-name/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I knew instantly WWoW was the name for me but others have questioned my sanity – and from site tracker, I can tell that there are a bunch of perverts out there that got highly disappointed when they found my wieners were not the kind they were looking forward!

    I still wouldn’t change it and I don’t think you should either. I like your blog name but if you change it, I’ll survive!!

    Hallie

  2. You poor thing. I never really thought about the whole weiner search engine thing.

    Your vote is very important, thank you very much.

  3. It took me forever to come up with a name for my blog. And I am still not happy with it.

    I really like Barn Bums! It caught my attention and made me stop by and check it out…. but if you change it, I will still stalk you! LOL

  4. I really like the name. It fits in a lot of different ways. But what ever you decide to do is fine. I will still look forward to reading it. I think the pictures are precious.


Leave a Reply

