Paws at Peace

100_2665

These muddy prints have always been sort of a nuisance in my eyes, but last night they meant so much. As I swept the porch I realized that once those wash away they will not be replaced. They were so much more important to me then than ever before.

100_2660

Sunday afternoon, Mr. Bum took this picture. He thought she looked cute. Sunday evening he sat in the grass with her and tried to comfort her as she had a seizure.

Monday morning I made the call to end her life. It was horrible and a relief. The feeling that you decided when something died and the relief of not having to wonder if she hurt or how it would end. Off and on I was weepy until last night. After everyone was asleep I went to the yard to throw away those nasty urine stained beds. As much as I hated those things it killed me to think they would not be replaced. I sat outside and cried.

Rest in Peace Micah!  18 years

Published in: on August 5, 2008 at 8:46 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebarnbums.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/paws-at-peace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We’re sad for you today over here at WWoW. Maybe Micah will meet my Nomar. (God, I miss that little guy)

    Hallie

  2. You gave him a good, long life!

  3. I’m so sorry you lost Micah. He lived a nice long life and now he is at rest.

  4. So sorry for your loss! He had a good life but I know you will all miss him… HUGS!

  5. Awwww, so sorry my friend! I’ve been on the go lately and just now checked in.

  6. Oh I am so sorry for your sorrow, I can not believe 18 years though. Wow. I hate losing friends, family and companions. Our time is coming right around the bend and I dread it so badly. so hugs to you and your family.

  7. Oh, that’s so hard to say goodbye. The paw prints are beautiful…

  8. Hugs to you – Like Lisa J. I fear our time is coming up rather quickly as well…


Leave a comment